Addendum to O’Donovan

After an involved conversation with Andrew Cameron (my supervisor), I think I need to slightly revise my analysis of O’Donovan. Cameron suggests that O’Donovan does not use providence to justify judgment. Rather, he reads Romans 13 and 1 Peter 2 as strongly approving of judgment, and hence as an appropriate activity for Christians. From the same passages, he gets his theology of judgment as god’s providence.

Hence my problem is possibly not with O’D’s  concept of providence, but his reading of Rom 13 and 1 Peter 2. So now I’m going to put my biblical theology on hold (again) and do some extended exegesis of these passages…

Leave a Reply

